Added by on 2015-08-13

animago AWARD 2015: Here come the Nominees!

A total of 45 projects in nine categories chosen for nominations from out of a pool of more than 1,000 overall submissions

Munich/Potsdam, 13 August 2015 – Last Monday, an independent jury of experts gathered in Berlin to make their final picks for this year’s nominees for the 2015 animago AWARD. From out of exactly 1,008 international projects sent in by digital artists from 58 countries, the five best works were chosen in each of the nine categories. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on the evening of the 15 October during the animago AWARD & CONFERENCE (Thursday, 15th and Friday, 16 October 2015) in the Metropolis Hall at Filmpark Babelsberg.

As Günter Hagedorn, animago AWARD jury chairman, notes: “The talent and creativity of the submitted works never fails to impress us each year. We are especially proud of the sheer diversity we see in terms style, genre and visual expression, which is definitely owed to the international nature of the competition and thus also reflects the culture of these globally operating artists. We’re crossing our fingers for all the nominees”.

Overview of the nominated projects for the animago AWARD 2015

Nominated in the “Best Still” category

The award winners in this category will be chosen by a public vote among the readers of DIGITAL PRODUCTION magazine and the animago community. The vote will run online until September 10, 2015 on the animago fan site

Raspberry Madness (Best Still)

“Raspberry Madness”
Tuna Unalan
United States

Hominum Historia (Best Still)

“Hominum Historia”

Closed (Best Still)

Aris Michailidis

On the Tramp (Best Still)

“On The Tramp”
Manuel Peter

Topview (Best Still)

Jürgen Stein Fotodesign

Nominated in the “Best Post-Production” category

Big Game (Best Postproduction)

“Big Game”

Avengers Age of Ultron - Ultron MK1 and the Partyfight (Best Postproduction)

“Avengers: Age of Ultron – Ultron MK1 and the Partyfight”
Trixter Film

Sundays - Visual Effects (Best Postproduction)

“Sundays – Visual Effects”
The Netherlands

Crossbones (Best Postproduction)

Important Looking Pirates

Jagon - VFX (Best Postproduction)

“Jagon – VFX”
Murat Goenueltas
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

Nominated in the “Best Trailer/Opener” category

Total War Warhammer (Best Trailer-Opener)

“Total War: Warhammer”
Platige Image, Sega

Run Boy Run - Dying Light Trailer (Best Trailer-Opener)

“Run Boy Run – Dying Light Trailer”
Axis Animation, Techland

The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt Launch Cinematic (Best Trailer-Opener)

“The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt Launch Cinematic”
Digic Pictures, CD Projekt RED

Assassins Creed Syndicate Trailer (Best Trailer-Opener)

“Assassin’s Creed Syndicate Trailer”
Digic Pictures, Ubisoft
Hungary, Germany

The Crew Launch (Best Trailer-Opener)

“The Crew Launch”
Unit Image, Ubisoft

Nominated in the “Best Short Film” category

Knights Quest (Best Short Film)

“Knights Quest”
Red Star 3D
Great Britain

None of That (Best Short Film)

“None of That”
Isabela Littger, Anna Hinds Paddock, Kriti Kaur
Ringling College of Art and Design
United States

Shift (Best Short Film)

Cecilia Pugliesi, Yijun Liu
NYC School of Visual Arts
United States

Bloody Sunday (Best Short Film)

“Bloody Sunday”
Studio Produkcyjne ORKA

Dissonance (Best Short Film)

Till Nowak, DETAiLFILM

Nominated in the “Best Advertising Production” category

Find The One (Best Advertising Production)

“Find The One”
stories AG, boutiq AG, Chez Eddy

TNT - The People Network (Best Advertising Production)

“TNT – The People Network”
The Netherlands

Supermoine Holypop (Best Advertising Production)

“Supermoine Holypop”
Supamonks Studio

Lycra Moves You (Best Advertising Production)

“Lycra Moves You”
Great Britain

BMW M3M4 Carbon Fibre (Best Advertising Production)

“BMW M3M4: Carbon Fibre”

Nominated in the “Best Character” category

My Dear Gnome (Best Character)

“My Dear Gnome”
Emmanuelle Leleu, Julien Hazebroucq, Chez Eddy

The Mechanical Waltz (Best Character)

“The Mechanical Waltz”
Julien Dykmans, William Thomas, Amaury Bernier

Anna (Best Character)

Alexia Rubod, Antoine Poyard, Jordann Jacobé, Alexis Choquard, Sophie Bracmard, Yunhan Liu

Escargore (Best Character)

Oliver Hilbert
Media Design School
New Zealand

Border (Best Character)


Nominated in the “Best Visualization” category

Ambition (Best Visualization)

Platige Image, National Space Agency

Be Sexy, Be Smart (Best Visualization)

“Be Sexy, Be Smart”
The Netherlands

The Edge (Best Visualization)

“The Edge”
The Netherlands

Junge Helden Ablauf einer Organspende (Best Visualization)

“Junge Helden: Ablauf einer Organspende”
Uli Henrik Streckenbach, Robert Pohle, Ronny Schmidt, Maurice Mersinger, Jochen Mader

EPA Air Pollution (Best Visualization)

“EPA Air Pollution”
The Magnificent Itch

Nominated in the “Best Young Production” category

(Endowed with € 3,000 in prize money from DIGITAL PRODUCTION)

Ataraxya (Best Young Production)

Maxime Helier, Guilherme Pereira, Sophie Loubiere, Carla Gandolfi, Marion Chopin

Natural Attraction (Best Young Production)

“Natural Attraction”
Marc Zimmermann
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

Les Liens de sang (Blood Ties) (Best Young Production)

“Les Liens de sang (Blood Ties)”
Manon Lazzari, Sophie Kavouridis, Marion Louw, Thomas Ricquier, Simon Pannetrat
Ecole Georges Meliès

Canned (Best Young Production)

Ivan Joy, Nathaniel Hatton, Tanya Zamon
Ringling College of Art and Design
United States

Escarface (Best Young Production)

Pierre Plouzeau, Eva Navaux, Burcu Sankur, Vincent Meunier, Lionel Arnold, Dario Sabato
Supinfocom Valenciennes

Nominated in the “Jury’s Prize” category

Cosmos Laundromat (Jurys Prize)

“Cosmos Laundromat”
Mathieu Auvray, Blender Institute
The Netherlands

Dji. Death Sails (Jurys Prize)

“Dji. Death Sails”

Kung Fury (Jurys Prize)

“Kung Fury”
David Sandberg, Laser Unicorns, Fido Film Germany

Auster (Jurys Prize)

Dominik Stockhausen, Carl Krause
Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg

A Single Life (Jurys Prize)

“A Single Life”
Job, Joris & Marieke
The Netherlands

In 2015, the animago jury under the chairmanship of Günter Hagedorn (animago Co-Founder & graphic designer) is made up of Alexander Ellendt (Executive Producer and Management Board Member at the Vogelsänger Group), Maggy Fischer (Head of Post-Production at the Neverest Agency), Mirja Fürst (Editor, DIGITAL PRODUCTION), Sinje Gebauer (VFX & CG Producer), Florian Gellinger (Visual Effects Designer and Co-Founder of RISE | Visual Effects Studios), Angela Kern (Head of the Digital Art Department at the GA Hochschule der digitalen Gesellschaft), Michael Landgrebe (VFX Supervisor and Co-Founder of Celluloid Visual Effects), Csaba Letay (Design/Direction/Compositing at Polynoid/WOODBLOCK), Thomas Zauner (Managing Director, ScanlineVFX). Invited to participate as Guest Jurors were Elmar Giglinger (Managing Director of Business Location Marketing) and Ina Göring (Head of Business Location Projects and Innovative Audiovisual Content) from the Medienboard Berlin-Brandenburg.

Overview of the nominees for the 2015 animago AWARD: